Tuesday, October 28, 2008

Politicians, ward councillors among 36 terror-suspects in Rajshahi city

RMP gets list from police headquarters for vigilance and action to hold peaceful election

Police have prepared a list of 36 terror-suspects including some ward councilors and politicians in Rajshahi city as they might pose threats to holding of the upcoming Jatiya Sangsad elections peacefully.

The police headquarters prepared the list following field level intelligence reports and sent it to Rajshahi Metropolitan Police (RMP) for keeping vigilance on them, highly placed sources in RMP said.

According to the sources, the list includes names of six newly elected ward councilors of Rajshahi City Corporation (RCC), three former ward councilors and five persons belonging to Awami League (AL) and BNP.

The listed persons might hamper the JS elections by abetting use of illegal arms, musclemen and money, the sources said quoting the intelligence reports and analysis of their previous criminal records.

The police headquarters have directed RMP authorities to take legal actions against the listed persons, a forwarding letter sent along with the list said.

The listed persons include incumbent RCC ward councilors Shahadat Ali Sahu of ward number 17, Ansar Ali of ward number 28, Shahidul Islam Pintu of ward number 30, Sazzad Hossain of ward number 4, Rabiul Alam Milu of ward number 13 and Abdul Hamid Sarker Tekon of ward number 22.

Sahu, an AL adherent is facing trial in one land grabbing case. Blamed widely for abetting terrorists, he was released after nine month's police custody weeks before the August 4 RCC polls that he won.

Pintu is accused in five criminal cases and Sazzad is in three cases, said the sources .

Abdul Hamid Sarker Tekon, an AL adherent claimed that he was arrested before over political bias. "I am not engaged in crimes any more", Tekon said.

Former RCC ward councilors among the listed are Rejaunnabi Al Mamun of ward number 15, Moniruzzaman Sharif of ward number 19 and Tarikul Islam Paltu of ward number 25.

Rejaunnabi Al Mamun is an accused in several criminal cases including one for abduction. The cases were filed under Public Safety Act and Speedy Trial Act.

Moniruzzaman Sharif is accused in two cases including one under Explosives Act.

Sharif was arrested in January last by joint forces and released after two month's detention.

The listed political persons are district Jatiyatabadi Jubo Dal president Tofazzal Hossain Topu, Boalia thana BNP president Saidur Rahman Pintu, Rajshahi city Jubo Dal general secretary Mizanur Rahman Khokon, Rajpara thana BNP activist Ali Haider Rana and city unit Bangladesh Chhatra League general secretary Zedu Sarker.

Others in the list are Kamal of Daspukur; Arman of Panchabati; Ekram and Nazmul of Budhpara; Tarikul, Shahjahan, Alauddin and Nazmul of Vatapara; Rokonul Islam and Matiur of Sheikhpara; Babul of Hosseniganj; Shakil, Sumon of Rajarhata; Zakir of Chhoto Bongram; Babul Sarker of Talaimari; Raju, Alamgir of Hatimkhan; Mamun of Guripara; Kalu, Tajer, Milon and Malek of Meherchandi.

Asked about the list, RMP Deputy Commissioner Sajjad Hossain told newsmen that preparing list of terror-suspects ahead of elections is not uncommon.

"Action will be taken only if anyone is found to be involved in breaching the law and order", he said.

No comments:

Post a Comment