Sunday, November 30, 2008

Jamaat losing battle for 3 tickets in Rajshahi

Published on November 29 at page 14

The Jamaat-e Islami demand for three seats in Rajshahi district is not gaining ground in seat-sharing negotiations with BNP making them dissatisfied.

However, the BNP is fielding heavyweight candidates envisaging their win over discords in local Awami League.

“If our man is not chosen at even a single seat, our workers would lack devotion during election campaign”, said Ataur Rahman, the city unit Jamaat Amir.

“Rajshahi is our stronghold… The intra party rivalry in Awami League over nominations will help us winning”, said Rajshahi BNP organizing secretary Alauddin Ahmed.

Jammat demanded the four-party alliance nominations for its assistant secretary general Mujibur Rahman, Rajshahi city Amir Ataur Rahman at and Bagmara upazila Amir Abdul Ahad Ali Kabiraj at Rajshahi-1, 2 and 4 constituencies.

But BNP’s former lawmakers Mizanur Rahman Minu and Abu Hena are back and their nominations are almost confirmed at Rajshahi-2 (City) and Rajshahi-4 (Bagmara) constituencies.

However at Rajshahi-1 (Godagari-Tanore), former BNP minister Aminul Haque can not return as he is fleeing abroad being convicted in a case for patronising militancy.

In his place, his brother Enamul Haque, a former Inspector General of Police (IGP) and law commission member is standing in the election.

BNP insiders said, the party tickets to Enamul and Minu are almost confirmed.

Former BNP lawmaker and senior politician Kabir Hossain is seeking party ticket at either the newly created constituency (Rajshahi-3 Paba-Mohonpur) or at his own seat Rajshahi-6 (Bagha-Charghat).

But BNP’s central office secretary Ruhul Kabir Rizvi is likely to get party ticket at Rajshahi-3 while local BNP men are advocating for the district BNP president Azizur Rahman to get party nomination at Rajshahi-6.

At Rajshahi-3, district BNP’s student affairs secretary Raihanul Haque, district Jubo Dal president Tofazzal Hossain, and former city Chhatra Dal president Shafikul Islam Milon are in the race.

Bagmara upazila BNP president Abdul Gafur wants to be nominetd at Rajshahi-4.

Mosaddek Hossain Bulbul who was lost to AL’s AHM Khairuzzaman Liton in the last Rajshahi City Corporation poll is seeking nomination at Rajshahi-5 (Puthia-Durgapur) constituency.

In absence of former lawmaker Nadim Mostafa at the seat, Abdus Sattar Mondol, Matiur Rahman Mantu and Abu Bakar Siddik are also seeking party ticket.

No comments:

Post a Comment